Quiet Dreams of New Years

New Year’s Eve was a bust in our house. I have never been one to fret over ringing in the next year, but my wife enjoys it immensely. This year despite having guests in our house we were both in bed by ten. She was sick and we were both exhausted by the everyday stress of having two children under the age of five. By 10:30 pm I could barely keep my weary eyes open and I succumbed to the gentle, lulling insistence of sleep. What happened in the next few hours is a mystery to me. I have no idea what happened in our house when the clock struck midnight and 2017 took it’s first gasping breathes. I was busy slumbering, lost in a dream land of my own making. I suppose that a part of me assumed my body would automatically awake right at midnight or a few minutes before as if some great internal alarm clock would scream to me of this new beginning, but this never happened. When I did awake I was surprised to see that it was after 1:00 am. Half awake and with bleary eyes I stared at my watch in surprise.

Only one thing surprised me more than the time. I felt a strange sense of peace and calm. I knew it had been related to my dreaming. I tried desperately to recall those dreams that had carried me into the new year, but I could not. That is the unfortunate nature of dreams, at times we remember only the shadow of the dream. We strain hard to pull the facts from the recesses of our mind, but they are gone. Even though the facts of this dream had gone from my mind a shadow remained. I remember that it was a quiet dream, an every day dream. There were no heart pounding car chases. I did not leap from buildings or fly. This was a quiet dream and it was about my life. Where did the peace come from? I suppose there is comfort in the familiar and what is already known. Now, I am not a terribly mystical person and I put little stock in the meanings of dreams. I know there was a time that God used dreams to communicate with man, but I believe that now he uses his Holy Word. Still, I couldn’t help but draw some thoughts for the upcoming year from those dreamy hours and the peace they brought to me.

I have never been much for New Year’s Resolutions. I find they are difficult to keep and I generally lack the motivation to follow through. I think that is because most of our resolutions are not spiritual, most of the time they are based solely in self. After all this is the season where gym membership sky rockets and dieting books fly off of the shelves. With that being said, the word resolution holds a much more powerful meaning than we give it credit. Our lack of faith in New Year’s resolutions has muddied the waters, but the root word is “resolute” which means steadfast and unwavering. It has the idea of being unmovable and a sure thing. When was the last time you heard people talk about their resolutions as a sure thing? Normally we speak of resolutions in a hopeful, wavering tone, but that is not the true meaning. Do you know that God is resolute? He is defined by his resoluteness. David declared in Psalm 62:2, “He only is my rock and my salvation; he is my defense; I shall not be greatly moved.” Scripture over and over again calls God the rock, the fortress, and the anchor.

What does this have to do with my peaceful dreaming? True peace comes from resting in the resoluteness of God. One of my favorite verses in the Bible is Isaiah 26:3. It says, “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace , whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.” It is the steadfastness and solidness of Christ that can calm and quiet the heart. I believe even quiet dreams are based in the peace we find in his strong arms. Let me encourage you to look to the resoluteness of God rather than to your own resolutions. Your resolutions are likely anything but resolute and they depend on your own strength and ability. Look instead to the steadfastness of¬†our unmovable¬†God.

Leave a Reply

